>> BackGuns N' Roses news: 

January 10th, 2017
Guns N’ Roses Members Win Four Honors in 6th Annual Loudwire Music Awards
By Joe DiVita January 10, 2017 10:45 AM

With Slash and Duff McKagan back in Guns N’ Roses, the band dominated 2016. The fan response was positively sensational as the legendary outfit raked in $117 million on the U.S. leg of the ‘Not in This Lifetime…’ tour alone. Garnering the same attention in the 6th Annual Loudwire Music Awards, fans stuck to their… guns… in support, which resulted in the band nabbing four victories.

Guns N’ Roses and respective band members received a total of six nominations: Slash for Best Guitarist of the Year, Duff Mckagan for Best Bassist of the Year, Axl Rose for Best Vocalist and Rock Titan of the Year, with the band getting a nod for Best Live Act as well as Most Devoted Fans. Ironically enough, they lost in the Live Act and Most Devoted Fans categories to Babymetal, who will be opening for them on select dates.

Slash handily ran away with the title for Best Guitarist, beating out runner-up Mark Tremonti (Alter Bridge). McKagan received nearly 35 percent of the votes for Best Bassist with David Ellefson (Megadeth) trailing in second, good enough to almost match the margin of victory set by his bandmate Slash.

Axl Rose didn’t command quite the same dominance over his opponents, but managed to walk away with the title of Best Vocalist and Rock Titan of the Year, beating out three-time Loudwire Music Awards Vocalist of the Year winner Myles Kennedy (Alter Bridge) and Ghost‘s Papa Emeritus III, respectively.

View the results below and thanks for voting!

Best Guitarist of the Year
Mikael Akerfeldt (Opeth) 1.65%
John 5 (Rob Zombie / John 5 and the Creatures) 8.22%
Jim Matheos (Fates Warning) 1.78%
Munky / Head (Korn) 3.81%
Dave Mustaine / Kiko Loureiro (Megadeth) 9.28%
Eric Peterson / Alex Skolnick (Testament) 1.13%
Mark Tremonti (Tremonti / Alter Bridge) 23.5%
Slash (Guns N' Roses) 45.18%
Ben Weinman (Dillinger Escape Plan / Giraffe Tongue Orchestra) 0.92%
Zakk Wylde (Zakk Wylde / Zakk Sabbath) 4.53%

Best Bassist of the Year
Frank Bello (Anthrax) 4.12%
David Ellefson (Megadeth) 16.4%
Fat Mike (NOFX) 1%
Fieldy (Korn) 7.06%
Flea (Red Hot Chili Peppers) 12.27%
Linus Klausenitzer (Obscura) 4%
Duff McKagan (Guns N' Roses) 35.47%
Martin Mendez (Opeth) 2.38%
John Moyer (Disturbed, Art of Anarchy) 9.36%
Nikki Sixx (Sixx: A.M.) 7.94%

Best Vocalist of the Year
Mikael Akerfeldt (Opeth) 1.61%
Jonathan Davis (Korn) 3.41%
David Draiman (Disturbed) 11.15%
Joe Duplantier (Gojira) 2.09%
Myles Kennedy (Alter Bridge) 33.82%
Jesse Leach (Killswitch Engage) 1.14%
Chino Moreno (Deftones) 1.38%
Greg Puciato (Dillinger Escape Plan) 0.59%
Axl Rose (Guns N' Roses / AC/DC) 40%
Devin Townsend 4.8%

Rock Titan of the Year
Billie Joe Armstrong (Green Day) 6.67%
Bruce Dickinson (Iron Maiden) 7.07%
David Draiman (Disturbed) 10.41%
Axl Rose (Guns N' Roses, AC/DC) 34.37%
The Ghost Inside 0.73%
Dave Mustaine (Megadeth) 3.92%
Papa Emeritus III (Ghost) 22.9%
Corey Taylor (Slipknot) 9.64%
Zakk Wylde 1.1%
Rob Zombie 3.19%

Source(s): http://loudwire.com/  
Thanks to: pilferk 
>> BackNews index

Share on Facebook Share on Facebook