Here Today... Gone To Hell! | Message Board

Guns N Roses
of all the message boards on the internet, this is one...

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
May 12, 2024, 08:16:48 PM

Login with username, password and session length
Search:     Advanced search
1227880 Posts in 43251 Topics by 9264 Members
Latest Member: EllaGNR
* Home Help Calendar Go to HTGTH Login Register
+  Here Today... Gone To Hell!
|-+  Wake up, it's time to play!
| |-+  Nice Boys Don't Play Rock And Roll
| | |-+  Pick up question
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: Pick up question  (Read 2562 times)
Jack49
Opening Act

Use Your Illusion

« on: April 09, 2007, 05:15:36 PM »

Im new to the guitar, been playing for about 3 months.  I bought a 56 gold top Epiphone to get started (later this year hope to get a Gibson) Im not really happy with the pickups even though my freinds say they love the guitars sound.  I wanted to get Seymour Duncans Alnico 2s  Humbuckers.    Unfortunatly my particular guitar cant fit the Humbuckers.  So my question is the guy sold me on Dimarzio DLX Plus.  He said these will give me the humbucker sound without having to major work.  Is this the case on these picks ups, are they decent? Any help would be appreciated.   Thanks
Johnny Rattlesnake
Rocker

Here Today...

« Reply #1 on: April 09, 2007, 06:52:50 PM »

The Alnico II's are relatively weak in output compaired to all of the other higher output
pickups out there.  What do you have in your guitar, P-90's? I'd leave it as is and get another guitar.

Hoosier
Rocker

I'm a llama!

« Reply #2 on: April 09, 2007, 08:05:42 PM »

i would also leave it as is till you can get a Gibson. not really much point in putting in $150-250 more into a guitar you are goin to sell, or demote to your #2 choice. although i would have thought humbuckers would go in anyway.

ever been in an earthquake motherfucker?!?!
Red1
VIP

yeah, you probably have seen me around.....

« Reply #3 on: April 10, 2007, 10:55:10 AM »