Here Today... Gone To Hell! | Message Board

Guns N Roses
of all the message boards on the internet, this is one...

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
June 08, 2024, 08:41:26 PM

Login with username, password and session length
Search:     Advanced search
1228015 Posts in 43258 Topics by 9264 Members
Latest Member: EllaGNR
* Home Help Calendar Go to HTGTH Login Register
+  Here Today... Gone To Hell!
|-+  Guns N' Roses
| |-+  Guns N' Roses
| | |-+  Who played what guitar parts on Appetite?
Pages: [1] 2  All Go Down Print
Author Topic: Who played what guitar parts on Appetite?  (Read 6217 times)
Guigsdaddy
Opening Act

Here Today...

« on: August 20, 2006, 12:37:54 PM »

Hey Now,

I'm a drummer but have always been interested in guitars espcially the duo guitar tandom of Izzy and Slah.  I was wondering iof any of you guys knew what parts Izzy played on Appetite and what Slash did?  I know Slash played all leads.  Specifically on songs life Paradise City and Brownstone who played the main riffs?  I heard a quote a while ago that Slash and Izzy never doubled up and played the same parts like a lot of two guitar bands do?  Can someone who knows guitar just give me some isnight, because I've been such a fan of the guitars on Appetite for a long time.  I think that Illusion minus a few Izzy written songs are just heavy metal and Matt Sorum really does ruin a lot of it. 

Thanks

Guigsdaddy
Voodoochild
Natural Born Miller
Legend

Mostly impressive

« Reply #1 on: August 20, 2006, 12:48:34 PM »

Listen with the right speaker - its Slash. Izzy is on the left one. It will helps to know who played what...

Also, some leads like Nightrain first solo and some of Think About You were played by Izzy.

darkmonth
« Reply #2 on: August 20, 2006, 12:49:42 PM »

Quite often Izzy and Slash played counter riffs ... riffs that work with each other but aren't the same.  Maybe based similar.  Listen to Jungle... Nightrain etc for much of this.